Here we go

My first ever blog post.  I’ve been considering starting a blog for some time now I just couldn’t decide what to blog about.  I’m interested in knitting, caring for plants (especially orchids) and cooking.  I just couldn’t decide what to do, but finally I’ve chosen to blog about my knitting.

I’m bad about not finishing projects and I figure blogging about my projects is a great way to push myself to finish them.  So, here I am.  Currently I’m working on a cardigan for myself that I started about a year ago and a blanket for my mom if I can just fine the rest of the yarn for it that I misplaced at some point.  I hope to get my first “real” post up by sometime next week with pictures of my current projects.  I would do it today, but I’m currently in Seville, Spain finishing my last week of studying abroad.  Its been a great semester and I’ve met some amazing people, but sadly I failed to bring either of my knitting projects with me thinking I wouldn’t have time for them… I learned I will always have time for knitting.  I’ve wanted to work on my sweater nearly every day since getting here, but oh well.

aidez sweater

I really liked the loose cozy fit of the sweater when I found the pattern online.

I am using the Barroco Aidez pattern to knit my cardigan. This is the link to the pattern on their site: http://www.berroco.com/patterns/aidez  .  I’ve liked the pattern a lot so far, but I think I may take it out and knit it in the round so that I do not have to seam it later.  I already have the back and one side knitted, but I

aidez sweater back

My favorite part of the sweater is the lattice on the back.

think taking it out and starting over would be worth it and that the sweater will look better when it’s finished.  I got the idea when I saw an old post from the blog knot another hat (http://knotanotherhat.typepad.com/knot_another_hat/2010/11/aidez-how-l-love-thee.html).  She explains how she knitted the sweater in the round which is very helpful, but I’m sure I will be getting help from my grandmother, the same lady who taught me to knit in the first place.

Stay tuned for pictures of my own sweater next week when I get home!

2 thoughts on “Here we go

Leave a Reply

